top of page
  • jamesgeraghty

Time to Live again

It's been around three years since I last went to see a live show, but at long last the next gig is on the very near horizon.

But is it 'at long last'? How do I actually feel about heading out to a live show, now that the time us almost upon me?


Because these last two years of pandemic have done funny things to people, not least me. Now, there is a certain sense of caution when I contemplate such things, which is ridiculous when I think about it. After all, in recent months we have been to the pub and restaurants, to football matches and countless indoor stores. So, why would this be any different?


Well, it is two or three hours inside a relatively small venue, that will be full. Live music venues are not best known for their light and airy rooms with great ventilation. And what about masks? We don't officially need them - but should I wear one anyway? But won't that get ridiculously hot and uncomfortable - I mean, it gets bad after 30 minutes in the supermarket, after all!


What if I do wear one and no-one else does - I don't want to stick out. I have actually heard in recent weeks of people being abused at gigs for wearing masks! I don't want to get too political, but it seems that the sort of people who might abuse someone for wearing a mask, are the same people who were complaining a few months back, that wearing a mask was infringing their freedoms - but when someone else wears one, their freedom of choice doesn't matter...


I digress though. I think that like everything that has been a bit weird over recent months - going back into an office for the first time, the cinema or whatever else you have been away from for ages - once I am there and the lights dim and the excitement levels rise, it will all be just fine. These really are small problems compared to what many have faced recently.


And lets not forget how important it is for the artists touring again. Not many of them are the U2's and Rolling Stones' of this world, who could comfortably afford a few years with their feet up. Touring is the bread and butter for a huge percentage of the world's musicians, not to mention those who support them (venue staff, promoters, road crew etc.) who also rely on the gig economy.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page